同行千里 只為一笑

關於自閉症

自閉症譜系障礙是一種發展障礙。

child, dandelion, blow-1347388.jpg

什麼是自閉症?

自閉症(Autism Spectrum Disorder)是一種發展障礙。跟感冒不一樣,不能從表徵來分辨是否患有自閉症。患有自閉症的困難主要來自溝通及社交障礙,而他們的嚴重程度各有不同。較輕度的自閉症患者能與人互動,而較嚴重的自閉症患者有機會不能用言語表達自己。他們有的對社交有很大的興趣,亦有的喜歡獨處;有的能夠獨立自主,亦有的需要被照顧。

自閉症的警號

了解自閉症的早期症狀及為你的子女尋找最好的治療方法

眼神接觸

與他人相處時,會避免或很少眼神接觸和肢體語言。

缺乏同理心

有社交和溝通困難,難以理解社交線索。

固執

思考方式不靈活及抗拒日常生活或環境細微變化。

重複性行為

有固定模式的行為,如拍打、搖擺、旋轉等。

如何得知自己的子女是自閉症?

自閉症的患者是不能從表徵來分辨,亦不能用醫學測試(例如,血液測試)來判斷是否有自閉症。自閉症的症狀可以有很大程度的分別,所以家長很難自己判斷子女是否有自閉症。

自閉症的症狀一般會在12 – 18 個月開始浮現,心理學家透過使用不同的篩及評估工具、觀察兒童的行為和反應來為他們作出準確的診斷。

babies, twins, brother-772439.jpg
baby, boy, portrait-390555.jpg

最好的自閉症治療方法

現在沒有任何一個治療方法能夠治癒自閉症,但一些已發展的介入治療證實能顯著改善自閉症患者的認知能力、語言和溝通技巧,以及減少他們的固執行為。介入治療適合任何年齡的自閉症患者,及早介入能讓自閉症患者有更大的進步。所有的自閉症兒童都能透過及早介入治療來改善他們的困難,有些在治療後能學習到所需的技能並到主流學校上學。因為每一位自閉症患者的需要都各有不同,所以每一位自閉症患者的治療計劃都應該是度身訂製的。治療計劃主要希望達提升他們獨立自主及各種能力,以助他們融入社會。

同行千里 只為一笑

我們會與你同行這個旅程

From a mile to a smile

About Autism

About Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a developmental disorder.

child, dandelion, blow-1347388.jpg

What is ASD?

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a developmental disorder. Unlike common cold or flu, no physical symptoms can be used to identify an individual with ASD. Individuals with ASD have difficulties in communication and social interaction and the level of severity varies. For example, one on less severe end can hold a typical conversation but one on the severe end may not be able to speak at all. Some have great social interest while some prefer to be alone; Some are able to live independently while some may need to live with support.

Red Flags of ASD

Learn the early signs of autism and find the best intervention to help your child.

Eye contact

Making little or inconsistent eye contact and gestures to regulate social interactions.

Lack of empathy

Social and communication deficits, struggle to understand social cues.

Rigidity

Inflexible thinking and resistance to minor changes in routines or surroundings.

Repetitive behaviors

Repetitive or ritualistic behaviors such as flapping, rocking, spinning, etc.

How do I know if my Child is Autistic?

Since there is no physical symptom in autism, we cannot use medical tests (e.g., blood test) to diagnose a person with autism. Since Autism Spectrum Disorder varies widely in symptoms and severity, making a diagnosis may be difficult. Although autism is hard to diagnose before 24 months, symptoms often surface between 12 and 18 months. In order to reach conclusions for diagnosis, psychologists use different screening and assessment tools to make observations in children’s behaviors and responses.

babies, twins, brother-772439.jpg
baby, boy, portrait-390555.jpg

Best therapy For Autism

Currently, no treatment has been shown to cure ASD, but several interventions have been developed and show significant improvement in cognitive ability, language and communication skill and reduction in stereotypical behaviors. Starting therapy early improves the chances for your child’s success, and it’s never too late for treatment. All children with autism can benefit from early intervention, and some may gain enough skills to be able to attend mainstream school. There is also no one size fits all when it comes to treatment. Treatment plans should be tailored according to each individual’s needs. The goal of treatment is to maximize your child’s ability to function by reducing autism spectrum disorder symptoms and supporting their development and learning. Furthermore, increasing one’s independence can help to participate in the community. 

From a Mile to a Smile

We are here to walk this journey with you​