同行千里 只为一笑

自闭症的症状

自闭症的症状

大部分的自闭症症状都会在大约18个月开始出现,但有部分个案的症状要在复杂的社交环境下才能被观察,所以有机会到小学时期才被发现。患有自闭症人仕通常有社交,情感或沟通上的缺陷。有可能不断重复相同行为,当你去尝试去改变或阻止他们的行为,有可能引来激烈的反应,例如发脾气,打人,尖叫等等。除此之外,他们亦有可能面对不同学习障碍,例如不专心上课,离位,回避老师眼神,不会模仿他人行为。

如果你发现自己的子女有出现以下问题,应及早求助:

  • 不会指着物件表示兴趣(例如,不会指着认识的人,卡通人物)
  • 当他人指着物件时,不会专注于该物件
  • 有困难理解他人感受,觉得与他人交谈很麻烦,无法谈论自己的感受
  • 避免眼神接触,想一个人独处
  • 似乎没有意识到人们讨论他们
  • 对他人很感兴趣,但不知道怎么打开话题或一起玩
  • 重复单词或短语,或者用单词或短语来代替正常句子
  • 使用不寻常的词或动作表达自己的需要或感受
  • 不玩“假想”游戏(例如,不假装“喂”动物/扮超人)
  • 重复动作
  • 不能接受规律改变(例如:8号风球不用上学)
  • 有对气味,味道,外观,手感,或声音有不寻常反应
  • 失去曾经拥有的技能(例如:不再使用言语)
boy, child, fishing rod-909554.jpg

自闭症发病率?

自闭症谱系障碍(ASD)发生在所有种族,民族和社会经济群体,而男生患病比女生高出 4.5 倍。在短短 10 年期间,发现自闭症的个案由 每 150 人有一个 增加至 每 68 人有一个。而在香港,发现自闭症的个案大约每 100 人 有一人患有自闭症。虽然由 2010 至 2012 期间,自闭症个案发病率并没有上升,但根据 ADDM 的报告,认为发病率不会再提升是言之尚早的事。以下是从美国 CDC 网站截取的图表,反映 2000 – 2012 年间的数字。

https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism/data.html

风险因素

诊断自闭症可在孩子18个月或更年轻时检测。千万不要抱着观望态度,直到行为增多或加剧才寻求协助,有可能错过 2 至 6 岁治疗的黄金时期。以下人士亦应该更加关注及预早寻求诊断:

  • 如果同卵双胞胎中有一人患有自闭症,另一人便有36-95%机会率患有自闭症。在异卵双生的个案, 一人患有自闭症,另一人就有0-31%机会率患有自闭症
  • 如夫妇曾诞下一位患有自闭症的小朋友,下一位患有自闭症的机会率为 2%-18%
  • 如果父亲或母亲属于高龄,小朋友患有自闭症的机会率也会提升

如果小朋友出生体重偏低 (<2500g)或者 早产( <33 周),患有自闭症机会率也会提升。详情参阅下文

自闭症发病率的增长有以下可能性:

  1. 对诊断自闭症有更广泛的定义
  2. 对诊断有更深认识
  3. 临床医生对诊断更加敏锐,能够察觉新的行为表征
  4. 人口正不断增加

自闭症幼儿四大早期特征

很多家长都担心,自己的子女是否为自闭症。当然,我们会鼓励家长如有疑问,应及早寻求评估。在等待评估前,家长可用下列图表作参考, 看看孩童是否需要作自闭症评估。请紧记,及早评估,才能把握黄金期,让子女及早得到治疗。

虽然每个儿童都有不同的自闭症病征,但主要受影响的范围包括:

语言缺陷及沟通能力

社交能力及社交互动障碍

认知及适应能力发展不良

有限、重覆及固执性的行为及兴趣

语言缺陷及沟通能力

家长可留意子女的说话能力,专家指出,在16个月时一般儿童能运用单字与人沟通,在大约24个月时可用词语沟通讲话。那何谓沟通呢?子女会运用语言寻求协助,要求物件,或是用语言展视物件。沟通亦应带有自发性,而非单方面的回应问题。故此,除了词语学习外,家长亦应多留意子女的自发性沟通情况。

社交能力及社交互动障碍

一般幼儿在12 个月后会运用肢体语言,与别人互动,例如相望而笑,指着展示的物件,甚至发出牙牙语尝试与人沟通。另外,除了肢体语言外,一般幼儿亦会透过模仿,与人互动。例如跟着拍手,张大咀巴等等。除此之外,幼儿亦会与人有眼神接触,如直视别人说话。

认知及适应能力发展不良

当然认知能力较难观察,但家长可透过观察其子女有没有较难适应事件的变化。例如转换上学的交通工具,小孩是否会大发脾气;子女会否不能适应新的班别,因环境的转变而产生很大的情绪等等。

有限、重覆及固执性的行为及兴趣

在玩乐方面,家长可多加留意子女是否只得有限的兴趣,例如只喜爱车子,其他的都缺乏兴趣,亦不愿意赏试新的玩具。在玩乐时,重覆地玩某种玩具,没有变化。例如不停转动玩具,不停重覆开关玩具门。另外,家长亦可留意子女对玩具的玩法:他们是否只玩玩具的某部分,只有缺乏想像力的玩乐技巧,例如不断转动玩具或将它们排成直线。

toddler, girl, laugh-2675884.jpg

自闭症幼儿并没有害怕眼神接触

要确诊自闭症,其中一个重要元素是检查幼儿有没有抗拒眼神接触。以一般的理解,眼神接触会令幼儿感觉不自然或对社交接触不感兴趣,从而刻意避开眼神交流。但是,一个美国最新研究发现,自闭症幼儿并没有刻意避开眼神接触。研究运用眼神追踪技术,尝试研究两批两岁大的幼儿,结果发现正常发展的幼儿在看着别人眼睛的同时留意面部表情,及因应不同的表情改变而作出反应;相反,自闭症幼儿亦会留意别人的眼睛,但没有观察面部表情。此研究得出的结论是自闭症幼儿并不是害怕眼神接触或不感兴趣,而是不明白眼神接触的意义。

同行千里 只为一笑

如有疑问,家长应尽早找子女评估。不要错过治疗黄金期!

From a mile to a smile

Symptoms and Signs of Autism

Symptoms of Autism

Most symptoms of autism are observed in toddlers as young as 18 months old, but there are cases which are discovered after the child has entered primary school. This later discovery can be due to some symptoms are only observable in a complex social environment. The common symptoms include their inability to follow social rules, social communication, emotional deficits, and throwing a big tantrum when one tries to stop their rigid and repetitive behaviour. They may also have learning difficulties such as being inattentive during class, leaving seats at an inappropriate time, and being not able to learn through observations. These all affect a person greatly in life.

You should feel concern if more than one of these symptoms has occurred:

  • Not able to point to request
  • Not able to follow other’s pointing (poor joint attention skills)
  • Have difficulties in understanding other’s emotion and expressing own feelings
  • Avoid eye contact
  • Poor perspective taking
  • Poor join-in skills
  • Use repeated words or sentences and speak in incomplete sentences
  • Poor imaginary play skills
  • Repeat same actions
  • Not able to accept changes in rules or routines
  • Hypersensitivity or hyposensitivity to senses (smell, taste, sense of touch, or sound)
  • Regression in skills (e.g., from able to speak in full sentences to not able to speak)
boy, child, fishing rod-909554.jpg

What is the prevalence of autism?

Autism happens to all race, culture and society, with male affected 4.5 times more frequently than female. In just 10 years, the prevalence of autism has raised from 1 in 150 to 1 in 68 children. In Hong Kong, the prevalence is around 1 in 100 children. The number remains the same between 2010 and 2012. But the ADDM report has suggested that it is too early to confirm the number has stopped rising. Here is a chart taken from CDC website , reporting the prevalence findings of ADDM network between 2000 – 2012.

https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism/data.html

Risk Factors

Individuals with ASD can be diagnosed at the age of 18 months old or younger. One should be assessed immediately to avoid missing the golden window for interventions, which is normally between the age of 2 to 6. The following groups are at higher risk of having ASD:

  • Among identical twins, if one child has ASD, then the chance for the other child being affected is 36-95%. In the case of  non-identical twins, if one child has ASD, then the chance of the other child being affected is  0-31%.
  • If the first sibling has ASD, there is a 2%-18% chance the second child also has it
  • Children born to older parents are at a higher risk for having ASD.
  • Children who are born with low birth rate (<2500g) and prematurely (<33 weeks) are at greater risk for having ASD. [Read article]

There are couple reasons for the rising numbers

  1. Broader definition of ASD
  2. Better understanding of ASD
  3. Clinicians have become better at identifying features that were previously missed
  4. Rising populations

4 main early signs in toddlers with autism

Many parents are worried about whether their children are autistic. Of course, we encourage parents to seek an assessment as soon as they have doubts. However, parents can use the list below as a reference to see if your child needs an autism assessment. Please keep in mind that early assessment will enable you to grasp the prime time and let your children receive treatment as soon as possible.

Although each child has a different type of autism, the main affected areas include:

Defective language and communication skills

Social skills and social interaction barriers

Poor cognitive and adaptive skills

Limited, repetitive and rigid behavior and interest

Defective language and communication skills

Parents should pay attention to their children’s ability in speaking. Experts suggest that at 16-month old, children in general can use single words to communicate with people, and communicate with 2-word phrases in about 24 months. You may ask, what is communication? Children may use language to seek assistance, request objects, or view objects. Communication should also be spontaneous rather than unilaterally responding to parents’ questions. Therefore, in addition to vocabularies learning, parents should also pay more attention to the spontaneous use of language for communication of their children.

Social skills and social interaction barriers

In general, children are able to use body language i.e. pointing, shaking head, nodding head, after 12 months. They start to have more interaction with others, i.e. smiling while facing each other, pointing to the display of objects, and even trying to communicate with others. In addition to the technical language, generally children will also interact with people through imitation. For example, young children can follow clapping, and so on. Moreover, children should have eye contact with people, which is looking directly at others while talking or getting information.

Poor cognitive and adaptive development

Of course, cognitive ability is more difficult to observe, but parents can observe whether their children are having more difficulties to adapt changes. For example, whether your child would get upset and throw tantrum when you change the transportation to school,  whether your child can adapt to new classes, or find it hard to adopt any small changes in daily life. If so, you may need to seek help from professionals.

Limited, repetitive and stubborn behavior and interest

In terms of play, parents can pay more attention to whether their children have limited interest, such as car-only. Children with autism usually got limited interested and are not willing to try new toys. In play, they may only focus on the smaller parts of toy. For example, keep turning the car wheel or repeatedly switching the toy door. In addition, parents can also pay attention to their children’s play skills: whether their play lacks  imagination and variation, ie. spinning and lining up objects.

toddler, girl, laugh-2675884.jpg

Diminished of eye contacts in Autism

To diagnose autism, one of the important elements is to check whether the child avoids eye contact. A common assumption is that eye contact will make children feel uneasy, hence deliberately avoid it. However, a new study in the United States found the opposite result. Using eye tracking technology, they studied two batches of two-year-old children. The result found that children with normal development focused on other people’s eyes while paying attention to the facial expressions and responding to different facial changes. On the contrary, children with autism also paid attention to other people’s eyes, but did not observe their facial expressions. The study concluded that autistic children are neither afraid of nor uninterested in eye contact. Instead, the findings suggested that children with autism do not understand the meaning of eye contact.

From a Mile to a Smile

If in doubt, seek assessment as soon as possible.