同行千里 只為一笑

關於ABA

應用行為分析 (ABA) 是一種基於學習和行為科學的療法。

boy, kid, child-6112145.jpg

什麼是ABA?

ABA(Applied Behavior Analysis)是一門經過60多年研究的專業技術實踐,在全球擁有無數成功案例。

應用行為分析治療(ABA)最早是在1960年代由心理學家伊瓦洛瓦Ivar Lovas 和羅伯特 Robert Koegel 於加州大學洛杉磯研發,目的為了改善自閉症小朋友和家庭的生活。至今擁有過萬份科學研究,分析及了解自閉症行為特徵。而每一個治療細節,如提示時機,亦經過研究,不斷評估效益及風險。

ABA 療法最大特徵是優先處理社交必要的行為,可以為他們帶來即時和長遠的好處。例如教導一個經常有自殘行為的6歲小朋友算數算並不是一個明智的選擇,因為對來說算數不會帶了長遠效益;相反,優先處理和糾正他的自殘行為能夠即時改善健康。

過往ABA給人印象是填鴨式教學,沒有彈性。發展至今,ABA主張為每一位學生度身訂造課程,滿足各個的需求,從而達到最佳治療效果。治療師會在過程中會收集行為數據,客觀地作出分析,從而決定不同程度協助及指導。

一般認為 ABA 只顧及一對一治療,但實際上 ABA 適合於學校、小組、playgroup、宿舍及康復中心等。目前要找合資格及符合子女需要的治療師的最佳方法是參考Behavior Analyst Certification Board(BACB)的網站。

科學

科學理論支持環境影響行為

研究

治療技巧得到研究印證

數據

數據化分析行為問題

客觀性

客觀分析觀察所得

控制行為後果

ABA治療概念

ABA 的基礎源於“結果控制行為”的概念,這意味著行為會根據結果而改變。 例如,當添加了 兩杯糖來製作布朗尼,結果發現太甜, 這樣的後果會促使下次少加糖。因此,將這個概念應用時,可以修改行為後的後果,從而令到將來採取行動改變。 例如,小珊向小明的飲料吐了口水,小明告訴了老師。 小珊不再向小明的飲料吐口水。 所以小明令小珊吐口水的行為有後果,因此行為會立即停止和逐漸減少了。 當我們與自閉症兒童一起工作時,可以應用相同的概念。 例如。 大文很少提出他的需求,所以當他說“我想玩樂高”時,我們會立刻給他樂高。 因此,通過滿足他的需求,一個積極的後果或更具體的強化,可以激勵他在未來更主動表達他的需求。

ABA對自閉症兒童有什麼益處?

很多人也有疑問,究竟ABA能教授什麼技能,亦有人相信ABA只能夠應用在自閉症比較嚴重的小朋友身上。其實,ABA 是一套有系統的教學方法,可以通過一系列的步驟來改變行為。 例如,孩子第一次學游泳,游泳教練會不會馬上叫孩子試向前游? 不,他不會,相反,教練會將游泳拆解成不同的步驟,並在孩子熟悉必備技能後才增加難度。 孩子當然會在途中遇到障礙,一個好的教練會怎麼做? 他會調整教學方法或嘗試以不同的方式解釋它,這樣孩子就可以更好地學習和理解。 在這種情況下,教練在不知不覺中練習了 ABA。這是最自然、最有效的方法, 它具有相同的概念,即觀察孩子的行為並根據他的需要而進行調整,將其分解為一小塊。

child, girl, confetti-918582.jpg
ABA 治療訓練自閉症兒童什麼?

行為治療訓練包含多個範疇;分別是處理行為問題、訓練學習模樣 ( learning to learn behaviours) 、語言發展及誘發語言溝通、訓練社交技巧、訓練自理能力及獨立性和遊玩技巧。從多個包含範疇可想而知,行為治療 (Applied Behavioural Analysis) 是全面性,能廣泛應用的訓練。以下讓我們詳細解釋行為治療所訓練的範疇:

1. 處理行為問題

自閉症兒童所面對的行為問題各種各類;有因固執而鬧情緒,有不聽話的令家長及老師都感到頭痛等等!行為治療能首先找出問題行為的成因或聯系(Functional Behavioural analysis) ,以根本處理行為問題及訓練學生相應的合適行為(replacement skills)。從而處理學生的行為問題。另外,行為治療亦著學以致用 (generalisation),故此,與治療師訓練相應的行為問題後,會進一步將訓練融入不同場合(如在街上,在家中,與家人相處時),以達到學以致用的訓練目的。

2. 訓練學習模式

自閉症兒童經常面對學習問題,如隨意在課室上走動,上課時無法集中,玩弄文具,有些學童甚至發出聲響,影響課堂。這些問題行為,都定為不準備就學的模樣,以致影響他們的學習進度。因此,ABA 治療亦著重訓練自閉症學童的準備學習行為(learning to learn behaviours),例如坐好上課,手放好不玩弄,安靜聽講,有好的學習模樣能減少他們的分心,以及對課堂的影響,從而提升他們的專注力,增加學習效率。

3. 幫助語言發展及誘發溝通

不少自閉症兒童都面對不同的語言問題,有些只是懂得發出牙牙語,遲遲不懂說話。亦有些是懂得說話,但一般只是自說自話,缺乏與人的溝通交流。故此,在ABA 訓療裡亦非常關注自閉學童的語言發展及提升他們的動機與人用語言溝通交流。在語言學習中,ABA 能有效的提升學童的發音能力,認識詞彙,語句的組識及運用。

4. 訓練社交技巧

自閉症學童,一來缺乏社交興趣,有興趣的亦可能缺乏與人溝通的技巧。故此,ABA 治療的首要是先提高自閉症兒童的社交興趣,運用不同的模式,讓自閉症兒童從不同活動中,享受社交的帶來的樂趣及重要性,如得到朋友的幫助會令更容易解決問題。提升社交興趣後,ABA 治療便著重如何提升學童的社交技巧。社交技巧因人而異,ABA 治療師會因應學童的個別需要而重點訓練。如有些學童需訓練玩樂時與人溝通,有些需訓練分享等等。經過ABA 訓練後,可重點性的提升自閉症學童的社交技巧,更易於融入朋輩之間。

5. 訓練自理能力

自閉症學童在自理問題上可能會帶給家長不同的苦惱,有些三歲過後亦經常便溺,不懂自行如廁,有些在入學年齡後,亦不會自行穿衣,日常大小事都需要家長的從旁協助。這類型的自理問題,家長都可尋求ABA 治療的協助,ABA 訓練能有系統,循序漸進地訓練學童的自理能力。經過訓練後,家長能慢慢放手,讓子女自行處理日常的事項,如早上擦牙、換衣服,穿鞋子,自行吃飯,甚至慢慢懂得收拾書包等等。

6. 訓練獨立性

很多時候,因著自閉症學童的集中力問題,及過慢表現,以致家長經常需要從旁提點自閉症子女,有些要提點子女:「繼續做功課啦!」或是:「做快一點啦」。可能家長會發現,如放任孩子不理,會發現他們的進度很慢,甚至停下手腳,只故發白日夢或玩弄物件。故此,ABA 訓練亦會幫助提升學童的獨立性。需要獨立性的事項有很多,由收拾玩具,到做簡單練習,及至獨自完成學校的功課,ABA 治療都會訓練學童專注獨立地完成工作,而不需要他人的從旁提醒。

7. 提升遊玩技巧

自閉症兒童一般都缺乏遊玩技巧,有些不停重覆動作,如轉動輪子,有些只集中注意玩具的某部分,如窗口。他們甚少進行模仿遊戲(Role play)或想像遊戲(Imaginary play),但往往在學校,同輩經常玩樂的遊戲包含了模仿及想像力。ABA 治療亦會著重學童的遊玩技巧,除了以上提到的模仿及想像力。ABA 訓練亦會教授不同種類的戲,如狐狸先生幾多點,爭櫈仔,123 紅綠燈等等,以幫助學童日後更易於融入同輩的交流,同時能從社交遊戲中培養社交興趣,建立友誼。

我們的ABA做得更全面

以我們多年的經驗,我們開發了一個建立在 ABA 已被證明的成功基礎上的模型。 我們有許多成功的客戶都回到主流課堂學習。

全方位計劃

我們的課程是根據兒童各方面的需要度身訂造。

應用所學技能

我們的個性化課程側重於在孩子的日常環境中應用所學技能。

嚴密督導

我們為每個孩子提供每週監督,以確保獲得最佳結果。

持續溝通

治療師的每日更新和與顧問的每月會談能使我們的服務透明度更高。

有趣的學習

我們的治療有意插入有趣的元素,使我們的課程更加愉快。

我們的顧問都是國際認證行為分析師(BCBA)

BCBA 代表“Board Certified Behavior Analyst”,即國際認證行為分析師,是研究生級別的認證。它是由專業人士建立的標準,並不斷修改和更新,以滿足我們社會不斷變化的需求。 因此,我們所有的顧問都是 BCBA 或正在努力獲得 BCBA。

同行千里 只為一笑

我們會與你同行這個旅程

From a mile to a smile

About ABA

Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) is a therapy based on the science of learning and behavior.

boy, kid, child-6112145.jpg

What is ABA?

ABA (Applied Behavior Analysis) is a professional technique that has been practiced for over 60 years in research and has countless successful cases all around the world.

Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)was established in the 1960s, when researchers were trying to improve the lives of children with autism and their families. It became more developed when Dr. Ivar Lovaas established the UCLA Young Autism Project, which had cranked out a series of groundbreaking researches and practices. Until today there are thousands of researches around the topic of ABA treatment for autism, looking into different qualities and aspects of ABA techniques and approaches, for instance, the timing of delivery of an instruction, how can teaching be more effective.

The first priority of ABA, is treating behavior that is socially significant, meaning behaviors that can bring immediate and long term benefits for the person engaging in them. For example, teaching a 6 -year- old algebra, when he doesn’t know how to communicate his needs and has frequent self injurious behavior wouldn’t be a wise idea,  because algebra won’t bring long term benefits. However, settling his self injurious behavior would bring him immediate health benefits.

In the past, ABA has been crowned as a robotic approach that lacks flexibility. In the present days, it addresses the needs of each child and the programs are individually crafted to suit his needs. It also emphasizes that therapists have to be objective and base judgment from data, and breaking skills down into small steps to teach.

Most people may think ABA is only suitable in a one-on-one setting. However, ABA can be utilized in schools, playgroups, rehabilitation centers. To find a therapist that can match your child’s needs, the best way to find a qualified therapist is to check under the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) web page.

Scientific

Originated from scientific theory, where we analyze how the environment affects a child’s behavior.

Research

The techniques are proven to be effective and consistently updated based on the research outcomes.

Data

We take records and collect data to analyze the children’s particular behavior.

Objectivity

We make objective judgments based on observation and measure progress through behavior changes.

Consequences control behavior

ABA key concepts

The fundamental of ABA roots from “consequences control behavior”, meaning behavior would change according to the outcome. For example, when you added 2 cups of sugar to make brownies and it turned out to be too sweet. So the consequence of being too sweet would motivate you to add less sugar next time.

So to put this concept into practice, you can modify the consequences after a behavior, and  supposedly the person would take a different action in the future. For example, Susan spit into Bob’s drink, and Bob told the teacher. Susan stopped spitting into Bob’s drink. So Bob provided a consequence for Susan’s spitting behavior. Hence, the behavior decreased, or in this case, ceased. When we are working with children with autism, you can apply the same concept. For example, Dan barely voices out his needs, so when he said “ I want to play Lego”, we would give him Lego. So through giving him Lego, a positive consequence or a more specific term positive reinforcement, would motivate him to voice out his needs more in the future.

How ABA benefit those with autism?

Many people questioned the application of ABA. It is a common myth that ABA can only be applied to children who are severely affected. In fact, ABA is a teaching system or simply put: a teaching technique. It can modify behaviors through a series of steps. For example, when a child learns swimming for the first time, would a swimming coach ask the child to do a crawl right away? No he wouldn’t, instead the coach would break down swimming into different steps, and increase the difficulty once the child gets comfortable with the prerequisite skills. Obviously, the child would come across a barrier along the way, and what would a good coach do? He would adjust his teaching or try to explain it in a different way, so the child can learn or understand better. In this case, the coach is practicing ABA without realizing it. He has the same notion of observing the child’s behavior and making adjustment according to his needs, breaking skills down into small bite size pieces and his way of teaching would be the most natural and effective approach. 

child, girl, confetti-918582.jpg
What ABA therapy teaches children with Autism?

Behavioral therapy training encompasses multiple areas; namely dealing with behavioral problems, learning to learn behaviors, language development and linguistic communication, training social skills, self-care skills, independence and play skills. It suggested that Applied Behavioral Analysis is a comprehensive and widely applicable training. Let us explain in detail. The scope of behavioral therapy training covers:

1. Handling behavioral problems

Children with autism face a variety of behavioral problems; there are stubborn and emotional, non-compliance, in which parents and teachers may feel helplessness. Applied Behavioral therapy can first identify the function of behavior to fundamentally address behavioral issues and train students’ appropriate replacement skills, thereby dealing with student behavior problems. In addition, behavioral therapy is also used for generalization. Therefore, after the behavioral problems corresponding to the therapist training, the training will be further integrated into different occasions (such as when you are on the street, at home, with your family) to generalize the skills to different occasion.

2. Learning to learn behaviors

Children with autism often face learning problems, such as walking around in the classroom, unable to concentrate during class, playing with stationery, and some schoolchildren even making noises which may affect the class. These problem behaviors are defined as “not ready for school”. Therefore, ABA treatment also focuses on training learning to learn behaviors, such as sitting in class, having nice hands, listening in class and don’t make disruptive noises. Having a good learning behavior can reduce their distraction, increasing their concentration and learning efficiency.

3. Help language development and induce communication

Many children with autism face different language problems. Some just know how to make sound and they don’t know how to speak. Some people also know how to speak, but generally they just talk to themselves and lack communication with people. Therefore, in the ABA training, we also pay great attention to the language development of children with autism and enhance their motivation and communication with people. In language learning, ABA can effectively improve the pronunciation of students, increase the vocabulary bank, the organization and application of using complete full sentences etc.

4. Training social skills

Children with autism, they may be lacking of social interest and social skills. Therefore, the primary intervention of ABA is to improve the social interest of children with autism. ABA training may use different activities and experiences to enable children with autism to enjoy the fun and importance of social elements, such as it is more fun to play certain games with peers, getting help from friends can solve the problems easier. After raising social interest, ABA intervention may focus on how to improve the social skills of children in training. Social skills vary from person to person, and ABA therapists focus on the needs of the schoolchild as needed. For example, some students need to communicate with others in play. After ABA intervention, it can focus on improving the social skills of children with autism and it is easier to integrate into peers play.

5. Improving Self-help skills

Children with autism may bring different distress to their parents with their daily routines. For instance, some children with autism may heavily rely on parents in remind them not to wet their pants. Some of them need help in putting on clothes after the school age. All daily routines may require others help which some parents may find it hard to leave their children a second away. Facing this self-help problem, parents can seek assistance with ABA intervention. ABA training can systematically and gradually train children’s self-help ability. After intervention, parents can slowly let go, to let their children handle their daily affairs, such as brushing their teeth, changing clothes, wearing shoes, eating on their own, and may even slowly knowing how to tidy up school bags.

6. Training independence

For a lot of times, due to the concentration deficit of children with autism, parents often need to remind their children with autism to concentrate on their work. Some have to mention to their children: “Continue to do your homework!” or: “Do Come faster.” Parents may find that if they let their children do work by themselves, they will either be very slow, or even stop doing it. Therefore, ABA intervention will also help to enhance the independence of children in treatment, in improving their concentration and independency in finishing their work. There are many things that need independency. From tidying up toys to doing simple exercises, and to complete school work alone, ABA intervention trains students to focus on completing their work independently, without the need for reminders from others.

7. Improve play skills

Children with autism generally lack play skills, in their play, they may have some repeat actions, such as turning the wheel, and may only focus only on a certain part of the toy, such as a window of a toy. They rarely do role play or Imaginary play, but often at school, the games that their peers often play may include imitation and imagination. ABA Intervention will also focus on the children’s play skills, in addition to the imitation and imagination mentioned above. ABA intervention also teaches different kinds of plays, such as What is the time Mr. Wolf, musical chair, stop-Go, and so on. With improved play skills is important in helping schoolchildren to integrate into their peers’ play, to develop social interests and build friendships from social games.

Our ABA works better

Through our years of experience, we have developed a model that builds on the foundation of the proven success of ABA. Numerous successful clients who received our services have returned back to the mainstream classrooms.

All rounded programs

Our programs are tailor-made to target children's needs in multiple areas.

Generalization of learnt skills

Our personalized programs focus on application of learnt skills in a child's daily environment.

Intensive supervision

Weekly supervision is provided to each of child to ensure best results.

Constant communication

Our service is transparent, through therapists’ daily update and supervisor’s monthly clinic.

Fun learning

Our therapy purposely inserts fun elements, making our lessons more enjoyable.

Our supervisors are BCBAs

BCBA is a graduate level certification, which stands for “Board Certified Behavior Analyst”. It is a standard established by professionals and is constantly modified and updated to meet the changing needs of our society. Hence, all our supervisors are BCBAs or are working towards getting BCBA.

From a Mile to a Smile

We are here to walk this journey with you​